AGA Honors 20 Federal Organizations for Excellence in Accountability Reporting
(WASHINGTON, D.C., MAY 25) — At a ceremony Wednesday night, 20 federal agencies and departments received AGA’s Certificate of Excellence in Accountability Reporting (CEAR) awards for producing high-quality Performance and Accountability Reports (PARs) or Agency Financial Reports (AFRs). CEAR awards are given to organizations that effectively illustrate and assess program performance with both accomplishments and challenges, and the cost of that performance, in clearly communicated formats. This is the 19th year AGA has given its prestigious CEAR award to deserving federal organizations.
All but one of this year’s recipients have also previously earned the award, including the U.S. Social Security Administration, which has earned it 18 times. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission earned it for the first time this year. Recipients are listed below, along with the number of times they have earned this award:
  • Architect of the Capitol (5)
  • Federal Aviation Administration (12)
  • Federal Housing Finance Agency (8)
  • Federal Trade Commission (9)
  • Peace Corps (9)
  • U.S. Agency for International Development (2)
  • U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (1)
  • U.S. Department of Education (12)
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (3)
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security (3)
  • U.S. Department of the Interior (14)
  • U.S. Department of Labor (15)
  • U.S. Department of State (9)
  • U.S. Department of the Treasury (7)
  • U.S. Government Accountability Office (15)
  • U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (15)
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (14)
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (10)
  • U.S. Small Business Administration (10)
  • U.S. Social Security Administration (18)
AGA also awarded 12 special awards — to agencies that went above and beyond the requirements of the AFR or PAR, demonstrating further commitment to the ideals of good communication in accountability reporting — including to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and National Credit Union Administration. Special awards are given for categories such as Best Inclusion of Interactive Data Visualizations, Best Analysis of Financial Statements, Best Inspector General’s Summary of Management and Performance Challenges, and Best Improper Payments Elimination and Recovery Act Detail. The list of special award recipients and detailed award information will be available online.

AGA CEO Ann Ebberts said CEAR is essential to promoting the qualities of good government including accountability, transparency and communication. The CEAR ceremony is a great way to acknowledge the efforts of financial professionals who are the unsung heroes of financial and performance reporting, she said.
“CEAR is an opportunity for us as the greater government financial management community to honor all federal accountants, auditors and other financial management professionals who play a huge role in producing an agency or department’s financial statements,” Ebberts said. “By encouraging them to participate, showing them through training sessions how to improve reporting and recognizing when they produce a stellar report, we serve not only the profession, but U.S. citizens who rely on accurate, well-communicated reporting to know they can trust their government.”
About AGA: AGA is the member organization for government-finance professionals. We lead and encourage change that benefits our field and all citizens. Our networking events, professional certification, publications and ongoing education help members build their skills and advance their careers.

For More Information:
Anna Schumann | Communications and Marketing Manager
800.AGA.7211, ext. 308 |