Erin Birmingham | Marketing & Communications Manager 800.AGA.7211, ext. 308 | ebirmingham@agacgfm.org

July 20, 2021

AGA Announces Annual Awards Recipients

Recipients Honored for Roles in Advancing the Field of Government Financial Management

(Alexandria, Va.) AGA is proud to announce the recipients of its 2021 annual awards. Seventeen individuals and one agency were honored for their significant contributions to the financial management profession during AGA's 2021 Professional Development Training event, taking place July 19–21. "Our most well attended training event gives us the opportunity to recognize the best in our profession. These award recipients help to set the standards high and their leadership and accomplishments, during the COVID-19 pandemic, give us all inspiration to achieve more and demonstrate the value and honor of public service to our nation," said AGA's CEO, Ann Ebberts. "AGA is honored to recognize these outstanding professionals for their dedication, achievements and overall positive impact on our financial community!"

Einhorn-Gary Award

Michelle L. Yanok, CGFM
Supervisory Accountant, Bureau of the Fiscal Service

Frank Greathouse Distinguished Leadership Award

H. Tina Kim, CPA, CFF, CITP, CGMA, CIA, CGAP, CRMA, CISA, CFE Deputy Comptroller, Division of State Government Accountability, Office of the New York State Comptroller

Robert W. King Memorial Award

John H. Lynskey, CGFM, CPA
Controller and Deputy Division Director, National Science Foundation (NSF)

International Achievement Award

Reginald W. Mitchell CFO, U.S. Agency for International Development

National President's Award

Gwendolyn Sykes, MPA, CGFM CFO, U.S. Secret Service

Tracey Walker, CCD-AP
National Leader Government Affairs; Culture Diversity and Inclusion,
RSM US LLP

Elena Tercero, CGFM, CPA, CGMA Audit Manager, New Mexico Office of the State Auditor

John Cherbini, CGFM, CPA Managing Director, Grant Thornton

Craig Murray, CGFM
Director of Professional Practice, Michigan Office of the Auditor General

Jerome E. Bruce, MBA, DES, CAE, CMM, CMP, CEM Director of Meetings and Expositions, AGA

National Treasurer's Award

Kathy Stickel, CGFM, CPA
Director, Tennessee Division of State Audit

Author Award

Sophia Carlton, CFE Manager, Grant Thornton

Taylor N. Larimore Senior Manager, Grant Thornton

Educator Award

Dr. Jesse W. Hughes, CGFM-Retired, CPA, CIA Professor Emeritus of Accounting, Old Dominion University

Emerging Leader Award of Excellence

Nicole Waldeck

Senior Policy Analyst, U.S. Office of Management and Budget

Cornelius E. Tierney/EY Research Award

Anthony McCann

Lecturer, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland

Achievement of the Year Award

Irving L. Dennis

CEO, 4DConsulting LLC

Former CFO, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Relmond P. Van Daniker Government Transparency Award

Pandemic Response Accountability Committee (PRAC)

About AGA

AGA is *the* member organization for financial professionals in government. We lead and encourage change that benefits our field and all citizens. Our networking events, professional certification, publications, and ongoing education help members build their skills and advance their careers. For more information, visit http://www.agacqfm.org.