COAGA Scholarship Program Information and Application

The Central Ohio Chapter of the Association of Government Accountants (COAGA) will be awarding five scholarships to active members, family members of active members, or other selected candidates who are currently enrolled in full or part-time study at a college or university.

   Award Amounts: Five $1,000 scholarships

Closing Date for Applications: April 15, 2020

Award Announcement: No later than May 31, 2020

  Submission Requirements:

The following items are required to be included in the scholarship submission:

  1. Enrollment - Applicants must be currently enrolled in/committed to an undergraduate or graduate program (full-time or part-time) at an accredited college or university.
  2. Application Completion - Applicants must complete an application.
  3. Personal Statement and Essay - Applicants must submit a personal statement and an essay of 1,000 words or less that describes your proposed career plans and why you deserve this scholarship.
  4. Letter of Recommendation - Applicants must submit a letter of recommendation from a supervisor, teacher or professor.
  5. Official Transcript - Applicants must submit an official transcript from their High School or their college/university, whichever is most current.

Scholarship Award Criteria:

The following criteria will be considered for award:

  1. Academics
    • GPA
    • Planned field of Study – All fields of study are eligible; however, additional consideration will be given to an applicant in the accounting and finance fields.
  2. AGA Member Relations – All applicants are welcome even if they do not have ties to an active AGA member; however, additional consideration will be given to AGA members and relatives of active AGA members. At least one scholarship will be awarded to a member/family member.
  3. Application Presentation – Applications should be carefully completed and well presented.
  4. Personal Statement and Essay – Personal statement should be well written and provide insight into the applicant’s circumstances and character. Essay should be well written and describe the applicant’s proposed career plans and why they deserve the scholarship.
  5. Letter of Recommendation – Recommendation should be from a recent supervisor, teacher, or professor.

COAGA 2020 Scholarship Application and how to submit application.


The following documents must be provided by the applicant via mail or email no later than April 15, 2020.

(Note: If all information is not received prior to the deadline, the applicant will be disqualified.)

  1. Completed Application

  2. Personal Statement and Essay

  3. Letter of Recommendation

  4. Official Transcript

All documents should be sent to the following:

Auditor of State of Ohio

Attn: Teresa Hicks

526 Shady Lane

Follansbee, WV 26037



Please contact Teresa Hicks, COAGA Scholarship Committee Chair, at 304-670-6027 or via email at