Spring 2019 information


  • Teams must be registered by noon ET Feb. 15, 2019.
  • The case city will be emailed to teams by 4 p.m. ET Feb. 15, 2019.
  • Submissions are due by 3 p.m. ET March 1, 2019. Submissions must include a Citizen-Centric Report and a two- to four-page summary as outlined in the rules.
  • Finalists will be announced by March 22, 2019.
  • Finalists must submit video presentations by April 12, 2019.
  • The winning team will be announced April 30, 2019.
  • A $1,000 scholarship will be awarded to each member of the winning team!


  • Teams may have up to three members. Members must be students currently enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate program at the school they represent.
  • Undergraduate teams will compete only against other undergraduate teams. Graduate teams will compete only against other graduate teams. 
  • Up to three teams from each school may apply.
  • Teams should familiarize themselves with the Citizen-Centric Reporting (CCR) model. Each submission must conform to CCR guidelines. Submissions will be judged on the extent to which the report is consistent with the guidelines; however, each team should exercise its own judgment about the report content. There is no specific formula for a winning presentation.
  • In addition to the report, each student team must submit a short Word document (2-4 page) that summarizes the criteria the team used to decide what to include (and what not to include) in the performance report and why. The purpose of this document is to help the evaluation committee understand the team's deliberative process. Names of all team members and their school should be included in the document header.
  • Teams may use primary and secondary resources. Please cite any sources using MLA format. All primary research must be conducted by team members. Any late entries will result in a penalty of one point from the overall final score for each day that the entry is late.
  • All members from each of the finalist teams must submit a brief video presentation (25 minutes or less). This presentation will determine the final winner and will provide students with an additional opportunity to demonstrate their case findings and presentation skills. Teams may use any creative format for the video presentation.
  • AGA reserves the right to cancel the program if there are fewer than ten entries.
  • The CCR must be factual, so please ensure the information is correct. The CCR will be checked for accuracy.

Past winners

Auburn University at Montgomery, Team #2 produced the winning CCR and video presentation, focusing on the City of Morgantown, West Virginia. Congratulations to Matthew McKinney, Yumani Shabazz, and Elisabeth Tucker and their adviser, Dr. Keren Deal.

North Carolina State University produced the winning CCR and video presentation, focusing on the City of Fairfax, Virginia. Congratulations to Haruka Adachi, Benjamin Hawley, Adam Turner and their adviser, Scott Showalter.

The University of Guam produced the winning CCR and video presentation, focusing on Stamford, Connecticut. Congratulations to Rachel Bongato, Masako Watabe, Von Jaylarr Alcoran, and their adviser, Dr. Doreen Crisostomo.

North Carolina State University produced the winning CCR and video presentation for the fall 2015 competition focusing on Bowie, Maryland. Congratulations to Krizia Fajarito, Edward Hwang, Kornravee Sintavanon and their adviser, Scott Showalter.


contact AGA