CGFM® Certification

Calendar of CPE Cycles

One of the requirements to maintain the CGFM certification in an active status is to complete at least 80 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) every two years in government financial management topics or related technical subjects.

The two-year CPE cycle depends on the year the CGFM was awarded. The award date can be found on the CGFM certificate. You can use the table below to determine your CPE cycle.

CPE Rule of Thumb: If the CGFM was awarded in an even year, every CPE cycle will also end on an even year (Exception: 1994 follows the odd years schedule).

If your CGFM was awarded in 1994/1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015 or 2017:

Your current CPE Cycle is 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019

If your CGFM was awarded in 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014 or 2016:

Your current CPE Cycle is 01/01/2017 – 12/31/2018

If your CGFM was awarded in 2018:

Your 1st CPE Cycle will be 01/01/2019 – 12/31/2020