The Certified Government Financial Manager® (CGFM®)

The Mark of Excellence for Government
Financial Professionals

CGFM is a professional certification recognizing the unique skills and special knowledge required of today’s government financial managers. It covers governmental accounting, auditing, financial reporting, internal controls and budgeting at the federal, state and local levels.

Initial Certification Requirements

To earn the CGFM, candidates must apply for the CGFM Program and meet the following requirements:

  • Ethics—read and agree to abide by AGA’s Code of Ethics.
  • Education—have a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university.
  • Examinations— pass three comprehensive CGFM Examinations.
  • Experience— have at least two years of professional-level experience in government financial management.

Learn more about the process of earning the CGFM designation.

Requirements to Maintain the Certification

Continue to enjoy the benefits of the active CGFM certification by abiding by AGA’s Code of Ethics, earning the Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours and renewing your CGFM.

Learn more about maintaining your CGFM.

Have additional questions? Try our Frequently Asked Questions page, or call the Office of Professional Certification at 800.AGA.7211 or 703.684.6931.