The Phoenix Chapter Association of Government Accountants (AGA) is pleased to offer an annual scholarship opportunities for eligible undergraduate/graduate students to apply for a college scholarship. There is one scholarship awarded for $1,000, which can be used for student educational expenses. The Scholarship recipient is also awarded a one year Special Student Membership in the Phoenix Chapter AGA which will entitle him or her to attend chapter meetings and educational events, receive chapter and national publications, access job opportunities through AGA’s online Job Bank, enhance professional development, network with other professionals, and the many other benefits of becoming an AGA member.

We are pleased to announce our FY 2019-2020 $1,000 AGA Phoenix Scholarship winner is Taliyah Shepherd! She is a sophomore at Chandler Gilbert Community College, with a Business Finance major and an emphasis on governmental finance. She is the Vice President of Phi Theta Kappa, a member of the Black Student Union, an Honors Program member, and a community leader for Full Color Movement.

Taliyah would like to make a difference with the people in her community by teaching them to be financially informed and doing so by her stable economic decisions in her career. Her greatest impact would be to give back to the world the the knowledge of understanding. Making sure the government is more informative and transparent and through educating its citizens, she believes this will truly make her community and world a better place.

Scholarship recipient Taliyah Shepherd


The next available scholarship opportunity will be for the 2020-2021 program year and is due December 31, 2020. The application is available here!


Please submit your application, or any questions regarding this scholarship, to Kelly Alkhoury, the Scholarship Committee Chair, by email at