CGFM Certification

CGFM Certification

Certified Government Financial Manager® (CGFM®) is a professional certification awarded by AGA, demonstrating competency in governmental accounting, auditing, financial reporting, internal controls and budgeting at the federal, state and local levels.

CGFM is a respected credential that recognizes the specialized knowledge and experience needed to be an effective government financial manager.

How do you become a CGFM?

To earn the CGFM, you must fill out an online application and meet the following requirements:

  • Ethics — read and agree to abide by AGA's Code of Ethics
  • Education — have a bachelor's degree in any subject area from an accredited U.S. college or university
  • Examinations — pass three comprehensive CGFM examinations
  • Experience — have at least two years of professional-level experience in government financial management

How do you maintain your CGFM?

To retain the CGFM certification, all CGFMs must adhere to the AGA’s Code of Ethics and remain in active status, which includes paying the renewal fee by the due date each year, and completing at least 80 hours of continuing professional education in government financial management topics or related technical subjects every two years.
For more information, go to: