Per its bylaws, AGA is governed by a 17-member National Governing Board (NGB), made up of volunteer member leaders. Many members also take on leadership roles within the national organization through boards and committees that address certain issues or perform specific tasks, such as the FMSB or Journal Editorial Board.

AGA's National President

AGA’s national president serves a one-year term and chairs the NGB. Our 2019–2020 president is Ernest A. Almonte, CGFM, CPA, CFF, CFE.

Almonte is a partner at RSM, working in the Boston Not-For Profit/Public Sector Industry team. He is a firm-designated government, not-for-profit, litigation support, and higher education specialist with more than 37 years' experience. He has managed the audits of numerous public sector and not-for profit organizations and has provided technical assistance on accounting and financial reporting issues to these organizations. Prior to joining RSM, Ernie spent 16 years as the Rhode Island Auditor General, responsible for the state’s financial, performance and fraud audits. Ernie has provided training nationally on topics such as the Yellow Book, GASB and FASAB accounting standards, and fraud risks. He has served as audit committee chair in numerous organizations, including universities and the U.S. Department of Defense.

view bio


Ann_Ebberts Ann M. Ebberts, M.S., PMP, joined AGA as CEO in October 2014. She has more than 30 years' management consulting experience with the federal government in financial management, financial process improvement, program evaluation and shared services. She also provided project management and advisory support services for the implementation of accounting, acquisition, travel and grant management systems.

Ebberts manages a staff of more than 20 people in Alexandria, Virginia, to accomplish the strategic goals of the NGB. AGA staff develops educational and networking events to inform members and interested parties of current legislation and key initiatives impacting the financial management community. The national office staff works closely with members as they join, become leaders in chapters, pursue certification, and attend education and training events, and they work with government officials in search of guidance on increasing accountability and transparency.

AGA offers a variety of leadership positions at the chapter and national levels. Learn more about our leadership structure and the nominations process.